Rocking Chair Makeover

There was this rocking chair. I don’t even know how I ended up with it. It had 70’s looking dark wood stain and yellow velvet cushion. The velvet cushion sounds awesome. It was not. It was nasty and stained and flat and uncomfortable. I threw that part away long before taking a “before” picture. But obviously, the rocking chair could be made beautiful.

wpid-wp-1403802949512.jpeg

So I started to sand it. I used my Dewalt random orbit sander. We bought it when we had to scrape, sand, and repaint a lot of the exterior on the old house. That thing has gotten a lot of use.

It was hard reaching some places with the orbital sander, but I kind of liked how there were some dark patches. It looked nice and weathered.

When it was all nicely sanded, I decided that I didn’t need to stain it. The dark stain remained in the cracks of the wood and looked great. So I just put a few coats of poly on and called it good.

While the poly dried, I used some leftover drop cloth material from my curtains, to cover a big cushion I picked up from Ross on clearance. I wanted to do bleach spots/drips on it, in my mind it seemed cool. But it didn’t work at all. That canvas is super resistant to moisture, including bleach. Which is a good thing, I guess, since we often have people over for meetings that include coffee.

I finished it off with another clearance pillow in a peacock pattern.

wpid-wp-1403802950120.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

